SBIR/STTR Assistance Program


The Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and the Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs are administered by the U.S. Small Business Administration through which many of the largest federal agencies award contracts and grants to small businesses.

About $2.3 billion is awarded annually through SBIR and STTR programs to small businesses, some of which collaborate with universities or have university origins. These programs award for research and development with a focus on innovation and commercialization.

The purpose of the Alabama SBIR/STTR Support Program is to increase the success rate and competitiveness of SBIR/STTR applicants in the state. The program will provide support in four ways:

  • Raise SBIR/STTR awareness for Alabama-based small businesses through a statewide network of partners that will advocate and host introductory SBIR/STTR workshops
  • Educate Alabama companies on how to compete for SBIR/STTR awards
  • Provide one-on-one writing assistance and proposal strategy from an expert with decades of experience writing and reviewing SBIR/STTR proposals
  • Provide funding support to prepare preliminary data for proposal submissions or funding support to ensure grant accounting compliance for Phase 1 or 2 awarded to Alabama small business.


  • Beyond-the-basics training about SBIR and STTR Programs
  • How to prepare competitive proposals and proposal strategy
  • Avoiding common proposal mistakes
  • Federal agency focused workshops
  • Proposal evaluation
  • Individual writing assistance

Applicants can receive extensive proposal writing assistance for a chance to receive over $1 million in SBIR/STTR funding.

Alabama Launchpad partners with BBC Entrepreneurial Training & Consulting to provide the services of the SBIR/STTR support program. BBC Entrepreneurial Training & Consulting (BBCetc) is a nationally recognized consulting firm specializing in helping emerging companies win federal SBIR and STTR funding and use it strategically to propel growth.


Mary Hope Garmon